Kumaraswamy to take oath as CM on Monday; Mamata, Oppn leaders invited

 In U.S.
Just two days after taking oath as the Chief Minister, Karnataka BJP leader BS Yeddyurappa resigned ahead of the crucial vote of confidence on the floor of the house. With Yeddyurappa’s departure, all eyes are on HD Kumaraswamy, the CM choice for the Congress-JD(S) combine. While talking to press outdide Raj Bhavan in Bengaluru, Kumaraswamy said that the swearing in ceremony will be on Monday morning and he personally has invited several senior Opposition leaders. The post-poll alliance has already staked claim to form the next government in Karnataka.

Also, the Congress and JD(S) MLAs will meet later tonight to discuss the agenda for the alliance and explore ways to run a stable government in Karnataka.

Earlier today, an emotional Yeddyurappa lauded Prime Minister Narendra Modi saying that despite of a Congress government in the state, the PM never discriminated against Karnataka. “PM Modi has helped the Karnataka government even when Congress was in power,” he said.

Outnumbered by the Congress-JD(S) combine, the BJP needed the support of 111 MLAs to sail through the vote of confidence on the floor of the house. In a surprise farewell speech, an emotional Yeddyurappa said he will campaign for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections and ensure that BJP wins all seats in the state.

“I have failed to muster the numbers. After the session is over, I am ready to travel across the state, meet the people, and try to get 114 seats in the next elections. But will secure 28 out of 28 Lok Sabha seats,” Yeddyurappa said on the floor of the house.

Though the Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led BJP had won 104 seats, it had only 103 MLAs who were eligible to vote during the floor test as one of its legislators has been chosen as the pro-tem speaker. The Supreme Court, earlier today, had ordered the LIVE telecast of the floor test which was scheduled at 4 pm.

Catch all the LIVE updates here:

07:51 pm: I will personally invite Rahul Gandhi and Sonia Gandhi to attend the swearing in ceremony.

07:48 pm: Congress president Rahul Gandhi will be present during Kumaraswamy’s swearing in ceremony.

07:41 pm: “The Governor has invited us to form the government. The swearing in ceremony will be organised on Monday. I have personally invited Mamata Banerjee, Mayawati, Chandrashekhar Rao and Chandrababu Naidu to attend the ceremony,” Kumaraswamy told reporters outside the Raj Bhavan.

07:40 pm: JD(S) CM designate HD Kumaraswamy arrives at Karnataka Raj Bhavan to stake claim to form the next government in the state.

07:15 pm: The swearing in ceremony is likely to see top Opposition leaders gather in Bengaluru. Mamata Banerjee, Chandrababu Naidu, Sharad Pawar, Akhilesh Yadav, and Mayawati have reportedly been invited to the Kumaraswamy’s swaeering in ceremony.

07:07 pm: Kumaraswamy, next in line for the Chief Minister’s office, will meet Governor Vajubhai Vala at 7:30 pm to stake claim to form government in Karnataka with outside support from Congress.

05:50 pm: BS Yeddyurappa submits resignation as Chief Minister of Karnataka to Governor Vajubhai Vala.

05:43 pm: Left parties and the Trinamool Congreess have termed the resignation of Karnataka Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa without facing a trust vote a ‘victory of secular democratic forces’. “It’s a victory of secular democratic forces. The BJP never had the numbers, but the governor invited them to form government. The party was given time for horse-trading. Karnataka showed that the BJP’s downslide has started,” CPI leader D Raja.

05:00 pm: “I hope that the BJP and the RSS learn a lesson that the will of the country cannot be disrespected,” Rahul Gandhi also said. “Proud that Opposition has stood together and defeated BJP.” “PM Modi talks about corruption, but the truth is that PM Modi is increasing corruption and in a way is corruption himself,” the Congress president added. 04:45 pm: The swearing-in ceremony of HD Kumaraswamy is likely to take place on Monday.

Recent Posts
Get Breaking News Delivered to Your Inbox
Join over 2.3 million subscribers. Get daily breaking news directly to your inbox as they happen.
Your Information will never be shared with any third party.
Get Latest News in Facebook
Never miss another breaking news. Click on the "LIKE" button below now!